shortcutOct 23, 2018
Shalmont Central School District
District HomeAbout UsContact UsDirectionsA to Z IndexDirectory


News border

Schalmont HS Drama Club to perform ‘Footloose, the Musical’

The Schalmont High School Drama Club will be performing the musical, “Footloose, the Musical� Thursday-Saturday, March 8-10, at 7 p.m. and Sunday, March 11 at 2 p.m. in the high school auditorium.

Tickets are $12 for adults, $6 for students and seniors, and will be sold the week before the performances in the high school cafeteria during lunch periods. They will also be sold in the cafeteria on the night and Sunday afternoon of each show. Please direct any questions regarding tickets to Ms. Debra McCloskey ( or 518-355-6110 ext. 3006).

“Footloose, the Musical� is an explosive, fast paced and energetic musical that delivers important messages regarding the voices of young people in a community. It is a relatively new musical based on the 1980s film that starred Kevin Bacon. When Ren McCormack moves to a small town where the local government has banned dancing and rock music, he leads his classmates around the law and Reverend Shaw Moore to have a real senior prom. The show is loosely based on actual events that took place in the small, rural, and religious community of Elmore City, Oklahoma.

“Footloose, the Musical� is a show that will be enjoyed by all audience members young and old. It has classic 1980s music hits as well as new songs that were written for the musical that blend together to help create a hard driving but thoughtful and moving two hours that is sure to have you leaving the theater feeling good and singing the songs on the way home.

Principal roles in “Footloose, the Musical� will be performed by Justin Marotta, Gabrielle VanDyk, Devin Tetlak, Tahya Hurn, Natalie Stagnitti, Mikayla Schaefer, Emily Quick, Luke Handerhan, Richard Putorti, Renee Dearstyne, Adem Jones, Giancarlo Mertz, David Tomacek, Hunter Fallat, Matt Leguire, Logan Walker, John Michael Dearstyne, Preston Paige, Amanda Quick, Haley Osgood, Kaitlyn Goldie, Luke Keith and Thomas Lewis.