shortcutJun 24, 2018
Shalmont Central School District
District HomeAbout UsContact UsDirectionsA to Z IndexDirectory


News border

Honoring the Top 10 of the Class of 2017 and Alumni Wall of Distinction Inductee


Schalmont High School success – past, present and future – was on display during a special evening at the school recently.

Schalmont High School held its annual Top Ten Recognition Reception along with the Alumni Wall of Distinction Induction Ceremony this month, the first time the two events have been combined. Evan Christou stands with Dr. Carol Pallas after accepting award

The event began by honoring Evan Christou from the Class of 1980 for his many successful ventures since graduating from the district. Evan was selected as this year’s Alumni Wall of Distinction inductee for the exceptional contributions he has made to the district and the local community.

As the owner of his family’s business, Top’s American Grill located at the Five Corners, Evan has dedicated himself to giving back to his community and the school. He is regularly involved in the community events, high school athletic teams and the Rotterdam Boys and Girls Club.

He and the restaurant staff have also been very involved with Autism awareness and the Autism Society of the Greater Capital Region, raising thousands of dollars each year. Evan has served on the Board of Schenectady County Industrial Development Agency since 2011, and was elected to the Rotterdam Town Board in 2015.

Evan Christou visits Schalmont students to talk about resturantHe and his staff have also visited Schalmont students in their classrooms, most recently stopping by Jefferson Elementary School to teach students about the restaurant business.

After receiving his Alumni Wall of Distinction award, Evan spoke to the group as the night’s guest of honor. Evan told the group that they should be proud of their accomplishments and never feel that they have to apologize for their hard work or success. He reminded them all that they’ve earned this recognition, and encouraged them to keep striving to be the best. The Top Ten percent of the class of 2017 had some things to share with the audience as well – mainly gratitude for the people who helped them achieve their success at Schalmont High School.

The Top Ten percent is comprised of: Thomas Aragosa, Sarina Biski, Amanda Earls, Zachary Gazzillo, Amber Hodoroski, Alexis Horwedel, Hannah List, Brendon Madia, Emily Malone, Rebecca Mathurin, Elizabeth Pegarella, Erin Pratt, Timothy Ryan, Adam Smith and Emily Torre. Class of 2017 top ten percent

The evening provided them the opportunity to personally thank a parent or teacher who inspired them to achieve greatness. Each student took a moment to thank everyone who helped them get to this point, and presented a flower to their role models.

Dr. Carol Pallas, High School Principal Imran Abbasi, Christopher Baily and Board of Education member Kevin Thompson also participated in the celebration. It was a wonderful night celebrating all the success that has come from the halls of Schalmont Central School District.

Congratulations to everyone!